Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

Back at last!

with 2 comments

Curly's desktops

So, just what have I been up to?

Well, TWO new computers, both in the same case!

It has taken a while, but the hardware on the old Windows XP machine was deteriorating and could only have bits and pieces replaced so often, the operating system was outdated and not capable of keeping pace with the latest developments. So now I have a dual boot machine, i.e. when I switch it on it gives me a choice, do I wish to fire up Windows 7 Ultimate, or Linux Ubuntu 12? I’ve used the Windows machine to set up my home wireless networking solutions streaming content out and sharing files and folders between this desktop, a laptop, a Blackberry, a PS3, and a Nintedo, everyone is happy on that score! I also use it to edit my photographs, because Photoshop is simply the best. However, what has kept me away from here for so long is my determination to learn how to do things in Linux, how to code, work in the command line and “Terminal”, it is challenging and fun, and seriously I cannot get enough of it.

I wanted to rise to the challenge of running my home computing on a machine using only software that is commonly shared and legitimately free, and as you can see from the picture of my two different desktops above, I have even managed to get the thing to look and behave just like a megabucks Mac!

I am determined to learn how to use the Gimp image editing software, it may never be as good as Photoshop, but I’m pretty sure I can make it produce good pictures, the example above shows that I have a long way to go.

So I’m ready to be back in the saddle to ride this vehicle wherever we want to go, political interests have had to take a back seat for a few weeks, the hunger for knowledge has been winning the battle.

I’ll start tomorrow with a little piece on the local elections here in South Tyneside to get the ball rolling again – remember to go and use your vote, you really have no right at all to complain if you fail to mark a cross.

Written by curly

May 2, 2012 at 8:38 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Curly. I don’t understand a word of this lot but it’s nice to hear from you again. I was just
    beginning to get worried!!!

    Mrsdoasyouwouldbedoneby

    May 3, 2012 at 9:23 am

    • Believe me, it’s whole heap of fun, and a bit liberating to be away from “Windoze” a lot of the time!
      It’s good to be back here too trying to pick up the threads and make up for a bit of lost time. Cannot promise that I’ll offer something on a daily basis to start with, but you never know.

      curly

      May 3, 2012 at 11:38 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

