Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

Visit South Tyneside

with 2 comments

The advertising campaign

OK we must have seen this a fair bit now, and apart from one desperately upset reader in the Shields Gazette it appears to have hit the right notes, if it didn’t it hit people who are not bothered about complaining too much. Personally I think it is a very good edit squeezing as much content as possible into 45 seconds, I’d prefer to see a little less “branding” and a little more of the sea front parks and beaches but perhaps I’m nitpicking. I’ve seen it on television, online, and at public events, I assume that it has also been distributed to cinemas.

I’d be interested in knowing how much has been spent on the campaign and how South Tyneside Council plan to measure its success. I’d also like to know if any of our local businesses were asked to contribute to the cost in return for a second or two of fame.

It is good to see that our council is now reaching out more openly to wider markets by allowing content to be freely shared on YouTube and Facebook, there are still some who won’t.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

July 16, 2012 at 9:08 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Curly. My input, for what it is worth. Yes, I agree with you, the Ad is a step in the right direction. What concerns me, is the number of people who appear to think there is a “magic bullet” solution to the problem of the economic decline of the area. As I have said, I think the ad is a step in the right direction. But, in my opinion, much more is needed. I am not saying I know HOW to achieve this, but we have to make the area attractive to incomming business, to create (real) jobs. This does not, in my opinion, mean just attracting Call Centres and Distribution Depots (although we should not turn them away!). It is vital that we attract Head Offices and manufacturing plants, in this way we can build a “rounded” set of job opportunities to suit all abilities and ambition levels. A key point is to improve the “environment”. I do not just mean a few clean beaches, we need to have an area which is attractive. That is visually attractive (we have a start here, good coast line, lots of beautiful countryside within 45 minutes drive. But we also need to be attractive in other ways, ie shopping, culture, schools etc etc. This will take time, but unless we make a start, it will take an eternity. The key scene I think needs to be considered by anyone charged with attracting quality jobs to the area is this little scenario. Imagine you are the spouse of the Managing Director of a company planning to relocate to South Tyneside. Do you answer a) great, sounds like a nice place to live or b) speak to my solicitor, the divorce paper are in the post. Until we reach a stage where the answer is a), we will continue to lose.

    Ken

    July 18, 2012 at 6:08 pm

  2. Sorry, in my opinion but the advert was made to make money for 3 or 4 people who are heavily
    involved with the council top brass , we want to know is How much money exchanged hands ?

    tonttubbs@yahoo.co.uk

    July 23, 2012 at 7:07 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

