Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

Patience folks, patience

with 2 comments

I am away from my desktop for much of the day in Newcastle (at least before any rain arrives), any new posts today will be late afternoon or early evening.

Update

Horrendous drive into Newcastle today, an accident on the A1 at The Angel of the North seemed to force evreyone onto other roads and the tailback started at White Mare Pool, 2 hours later I reached Manors. A brisk walk through the rain along New Bridge Street and Blackett Street and into Old Eldon Square brought me to APM Camera Repairs at No. 6, where I deposited my Pentax for professional cleaning of the ccd sensor. I decided to leave it with them in the little workshop hidden away in the attic and spent the rest of the day in town before collecting the camera late afternoon.

Quite enjoyed rummaging about in some of the older parts around the Quayside and finding a bit of Newcastle’s history before going back to get my camera. I’ve been plagued with  a huge rash of dust spots for some time which were proving almost impossible to remove with a blower brush, so it is now the right time to say a big thank you to Tim Richardson, Chief photographer at The Shields Gazette, for suggesting APM to me. All cleaned up for the princely sum of a tenner! (I was expecting to pay much more.)

Took a few shots before getting back to the car and even at f22 there are now only three very faint marks on the sensor, I can live with that.

Traffic on the return journey was light, until I reached The Robin Hood in Jarrow, couldn’t believe the queue, three breakdowns in the space of about 400 yards were to blame.

Oh well, decent day out and much more confident about getting some decent pictures of our councillors camping it up in South Shields tomorrow during the Cookson Parade.

If you have any problems with your digital cameras, or even old film cameras, give APM a call on 0191 2212340, I’m sure they’ll be able to help you out.

Written by curly

July 3, 2009 at 7:51 am

Posted in Curly

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ll second the recommendation for APM. It’s a great place to go for refurb cameras too, especially if you’re after something unusual.

    rossinisbird

    July 3, 2009 at 11:02 pm

  2. […] was out of South Shields most of yesterday on a trip up to Newcastle to have the ccd sensor of my Pentax professionally cleaned -ten pounds exceedingly well […]


Leave a Reply

