Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

Staying quiet

leave a comment »

I’m not inspired today.

There are times when one feels as though one must write a post on something or other, as though the dear readers come to expect it. I then end up writing total drivel and nonsense again (just like this), but I should admit that there are days when I am totally just not inspired to comment at all, whether on local events here in South Tyneside, national events, or international events. and today is one of those days.

Perhaps it’s the greyness of the day, the damp and wet conditions here in South Shields as the remnants of hurricane Bill pass over the UK as another Atlantic depression, the thought that I must get some exercise out there and get more miserable and wet as I desperately dream up ways to usefully occupy the children. Even the death of Senator Ted Kennedy is insufficient to raise a comment, in fact (uncharitable as it is) I am finding it difficult to join in the world wide praise for a man who had so many flaws to his character, looking for the golden warmth of eulogies is as fruitless as looking for squirrels in the West Park, which I was doing yesterday after receiving a picture of a squirrel taken in Harton Cemetery, South Shields. I am told that there are squirrels in the park, but I have yet to see any evidence for myself, although I have seen them in Bluebell Wood, that quiet oasis in Coulthard Park, Cleadon Village.

So best to say nothing at all today, but don’t get used to it, it won’t last.

If anything inspires me, or raises my hackles as I begin to munch my way through a basket of fruit so kindly sent here by some old pals, I will say it on Twitter.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

August 26, 2009 at 10:31 am

Posted in Curly

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

