Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

Streetview comes to South Tyneside

with 10 comments

South Shields Town Hall

Smile, you’re on candid camera!

I won’t protest or throw a wobbly hissy fit, but some people might, as Google’s Streetview became live for the vast majority of the UK today, South Shields and South Tyneside were fully mapped by Google’s camera van  last September, I haven’t found a face yet that hasn’t been blurred (including Alan Branley’s election poster on Ahmed Khan’s van – he’ll be happy with the free advertising) and I haven’t spotted a vehicle which hasn’t had it’s registration plate obscured.

Unfortunately you cannot take a tour along King Street or the Market Place in South Shields, presumably the barriers were in place or the camera van couldn’t get out and about early enough in the morning. Shame about that, it means web folks around the world cannot get a full view of the town centre.

Google Maps is running a wee bit slow this morning as the Streetview bubbles load, but Google Earth is flying!

I’ve spotted a few people that I know walking around the streets of South Shields and they probably don’t realise they’ve been caught by the American operator’s cameras, but really, I have no privacy issues with Streetview at all. It is no different from me incidentally capturing people on my camera as I go around the borough photographing our best bits for the rest of the world to see, we have to remember that in this country we generally have no rights at all to privacy when out in a public place, and photographers, generally, have every right to photograph in and from public places, so long as we don’t transgress any other laws or continually harass people.

In many respects Streetview is a boon to help you get a feel for a new place that you are planning on visiting, and a good argument against those PCSOs and security people who try to tell you to put your camera away!

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

March 11, 2010 at 10:55 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is that Khan I spy in the blue shirt?

    The Fat Councillor

    March 11, 2010 at 2:27 pm

  2. No,the bloke in the blue shirt looks too thin and clean

    vicky

    March 11, 2010 at 9:04 pm

  3. Vicky, you are very naughty! With his diet of pork pies and beer, we must make allowances for his ever expanding personage. I must say, I try not to get too close to the bearded one, so I cannot offer a view on is mingingness.

    The Fat Councillor

    March 11, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    • I’m kind of struck by Westoe Rugby Club still advertising Christmas Trees for sale in September!

      curly

      March 12, 2010 at 1:15 am

  4. Curly
    Did you check out 143 Westoe Rd?

    Mrsdoasyouwouldbedoneby

    March 11, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    • Isn’t that quite shocking, they blurred out the words as well as the faces Lol !

      curly

      March 12, 2010 at 1:11 am

    • All I saw there was a computer shop

      Tony

      March 16, 2010 at 12:21 pm

  5. It’s great, I’ve enjoyed checking out parts of the old motherland. My ancestors came to Tasmania long before my time so it’s great to look around some of the towns they came from.

    Tony

    March 16, 2010 at 12:14 pm

  6. i operate a small computer shop at home and most customers enjoy playing online games *`”

  7. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

    Marquerite Wietbrock

    January 23, 2012 at 2:26 pm


Leave a Reply

