Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

Victor Thompson website

with 10 comments

Independent candidate offers election address on website

You may recall that a few days ago I posed a few questions to Mr. Victor Thompson, the South Shields’ man who is standing as a candidate in the general election, having sent them off by email I got a reply from the man with no description pointing me in the direction of his new website. You will note that whilst he says that he is leaving South Tyneside Council to concentrate on his business, his address goes no further towards answering any of the other questions.

Mr. Thompson’s election address is mostly an anti-political protest which rambles and meanders in various directions, but being anti-political yet wanting to partake in the democratic political process to be elected to the “Mother of all Parliaments”, seems to me a very odd contradiction! There are more words in his election address than I can find in total on The Shields Gazette’s website about Vic’s contributions to debate in South Shields’ Town Hall, was it the attack on the Branleys that led to this verbosity?

I’m sure many of us would still like to know about his relationship with the South Tyneside Independent Alliance, his thoughts on their decision to change their minds about fighting the general election, and his thoughts on the processes that they use to find candidates for the local elections. I’m sure we’d like to know why he thinks he would make a good constituency MP in preference to the other eight candidates who are also offering themselves for the South Shields seat.

I have asked Vic once again to try and answer those questions, I think he ought to be given the chance to put his case.

If you would like to ask him yourself he has a new email address cuvictorthompson@hotmail.co.uk

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

April 27, 2010 at 6:55 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had the dubious pleasure of listening to Mr Thompson at the Saturday night debate. In response to a question about what he would do if elected as MP he rambled on about car parking. This begs the question why didn’t he say something during his years on the council.

    Delilahcat

    April 27, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    • At the close of the meeting all candidates were asked to stay and field any questions from the audience which I duly did. Would it have been too much of a problem for you confront me face to face, or is it your desire to hide behind this blog ?

      Victor Thompson

      April 30, 2010 at 10:42 am

      • Now, now, Victor, I have already explained in this post why I was unable to attend St. Hilda’s Church, otherwise we may have conversed with each other then (I certainly don’t go for confrontation). I am still dealing with the aftermath and consequences today with a longish meeting this morning and further communications to follow this afternoon.

        Sorry that I have been unable to make the time to call you, this business has consumed a lot of my family’s time over the past few days, if you have a few minutes spare you could, of course, just send me the answers by email.

        My apologies, in my haste, I didn’t realise that you were replying to the poster above Victor.

        curly

        April 30, 2010 at 12:20 pm

  2. I’m finding it increasingly difficult to find anything at all that was reported of his time on the council!

    curly

    April 27, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    • I refer to my email of the 27th inst. and look forward to your call.

      Victor Thompson

      April 30, 2010 at 9:00 am

  3. Very interesting that VT makes no comment on the utterly disgraceful actions of some of his colleagues.

    What a surprise that AB was not there to defend himself. Is this the same AB who was thrown off the council for non attendance?

    Come on, Allan. If I’m wrong just sue me, you’re wealthy enough.

    David Potts

    April 28, 2010 at 2:01 am

  4. I am afraid I heard enough of Mr Thompson at the meeting. I couldn’t stay to question him face to face as I had somewhere else to go but he gave no insight into why he was standing for MP. The problems he raised he could have raised during the years he spent on the Council.
    Another one of lifes great mysteries is happening with the Independent Alliance. A Mr Andrew Farrow is standing in Cleadon Park and has written to postal voters on paper headed ‘Independent Alliance.’ So far so good. However he is standing under no political allegiance not even plain Independent. A ‘blank’ will appear on ballot papers next to his name. Is he suffering a split personality? Is someone writing using his name? I think we deserve to know.

    Delilahcat

    May 1, 2010 at 5:35 pm

  5. I think Allan B is a bit occupied at the moment. I’ll say no more than that!!!!

    Ispy

    May 1, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    • Anyone interested in what exactly is occupying Mr Branley’s time only has to visit the Fat Councillor’s blog, for all the gos’…

      The Fat Councillor

      May 1, 2010 at 11:44 pm

  6. Is david Potts cllr potts.As far as disgraceful actions he should put a hand in front of his mouth,does he think everybody was blind to his actions at the last full council.Shame on you.

    patricia boschung

    May 2, 2010 at 12:58 pm


Leave a Reply

