Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

South Tyneside – renowned for hospitality

with 21 comments

Cllr. Allen Branley and pint of Forsters

“The free bar will clear the gallery”….

Cllr. Ahmed Khan tweet

said South Tyneside Independent Alliance Cllr. Ahmed Khan

Click the picture for the full story.

A strange coalition party/not a party of Independents who cannot agree on what to do.

I imagine that this is how the council chamber South Shields Town Hall looked after the Annual Meeting.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

May 20, 2010 at 11:50 am

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s funny, my spies tell me that thats exactly of ‘councillor’ Branley was dressed…

    The Fat Councillor

    May 20, 2010 at 12:31 pm

  2. I’m dissapointed at the quality of the photos on South Shields Daily pictures. Not only do they represent too much use of computers and not enough photographer skill but they are mostly NOT of South Shields. That said the ones that are, show what a working class dump South Shields is, cheap and tatty. One of the reasons I moved to Stockton. Also I am bemused by ‘Curlys’ infatuation with the Conservatives. What have they ever done for the north east. I can only guess he is from a rich background. If he had to rely on benefits, council housing, invalidity benefits and tax credits he would know that the Conservatives only represent the rich. Try being put out of work!
    Mind having said that I recently lost my job with Corus, so no more labour for me. I quickly got another job even though I had a heart attack last year as I couldn’t stand being idle. Come on Mr Curly review you photo skills and start looking at the working class standards in the north east have a heart and show compassion for them! It could have been so different for you. I see you had a higher education and were an international retailer. Well most people haven’t had those advantages!

    Bill Cannon

    May 20, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    • Aha are you being bought ££££$$$$$$ by any chance sir?

      mr de

      May 21, 2010 at 8:44 pm

  3. Look, Curly, to be fair to the man he was there for about 20 minutes,was smartly dressed wearing a jacket. He didn’t have a pint in his hand and he left after congratulating Tom Piggot. l

    mrsdoasyouwouldbedoneby

    May 20, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    • I have been told from a councillor who attended the event that Mr Branley and Jim Hodgson were indulging in the free bar.

      The Fat Councillor

      May 20, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    • I……I…….ran out of words?
      I can only go by what you folks tell me.

      curly

      May 20, 2010 at 7:54 pm

  4. Just saying what I saw!!

    mrsdoasyouwouldbedoneby

    May 20, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    • It has come to my attention you may be being influenced by money from Big Als Kitty,I hope not as this undermines the whole democracy.

      mr de

      May 21, 2010 at 7:34 pm

  5. Bill Cannon I have photographed semi professionally for over thirty years and I think that Curly’s efforts are technically excellent, he has a strong grasp of line, design, depth, and the emotive pull of a composition.

    He works with what he has and demonstrates that the picture is formed in the head and not in the camera. So he uses a computer, I can tell from his skills that he probably used an enlarger in a wet darkroom too, tell me what is so wrong with artistic interpretation in the digital age? none of us complained when we saw hand coloured prints using food dyes did we?

    I have no wish to enjoin you in a political discussion but your remarks on this man’s photographic skills are churlish and ill informed, if his town is cheap, tatty, and a working class dump then I would say it would be difficult to deduce these qualities in his pictures. He has obviously worked hard to show South Shields in the best possible light.

    It seems to me that your bitterness about your former home town colours your views.

    John Leader

    May 20, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    • I say YEAH to John Leader!!!

      susan

      May 20, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    • Thank you John, I can only agree with your thoughts regarding Curly’s skills. I have known Curly for years now, I have not meet him personally but we have exchanged photos and email from time to time and I have a lot of respect for the man. Does Bill or most people understand how much effort it would take to run a site like Curly has (every day! not just once a month or so)
      Anyhow Bill a “working class dump South Shields is, cheap and tatty” Humm I was born in South Shields from a proud man who worked hard for a living, if my farther Harry is an example of working class, give me more! I wish in some ways I was more like him with his values and pride, I’m quite a successful business man here in Sydney Australia and I travel the world and have done for over 20 years, I have been back to South Shields many times, as late as last year and I think South Shields is a fantastic seaside town, so very clean and so much to see. I look at Curly’s site almost every day as he shows the place as it is warts and all, I think Curly’s photographic skills are exceptional, you need to clean your Glasses Bill, or better still open up your mind.

      Paul Donalson

      May 21, 2010 at 12:10 am

  6. Did not see Councillor Allen Branley getting stuck into free booze. Let’s face it he has enough dosh to buy his own pub.
    More worrying was his smile. Obviously advertising his cosmetic Dental practice it was dazzling white and symetrical. You needed sun glasses to look a him. Or mebbe he was breaking the teeth in for a horse.

    Ispy

    May 21, 2010 at 2:55 pm

  7. Curly s photos are great i am going to purchase some soon for a project,Things have been a little hectic over election time it was crazy.

    mr de

    May 21, 2010 at 8:35 pm

  8. Bill, I think he’s a canny snapper, but really you should have wrote your comments on one of his photo sites and let other photographers agree or disagree. Perhaps you could have linked to some of your your own pictures so we could compare your efforts with Curly’s, that might of been fun.

    I’m sure he don’t mind you falling out over his politics here, after all you won’t be the first.

    Norm Smithwhite

    May 22, 2010 at 9:56 am

  9. Curly, do you think that the remark by mr de is intended for me. If so I have never been so insulted.My name is Irene West andI have never ever been in anyone’s pay.I am most distressed.If mrde wants to tell me his name along with those people who”brought this to his attention” I shall be delighted to discuss the matter with them. For as it stands it is nothing short of libel.

    mrsdoasyouwouldbedoneby

    May 22, 2010 at 11:24 am

    • I am saying we can all be seen for nicetys for five minutes it is the other 23hrs and 55 min per day that counts.
      No malice inteded toward you Mrs West apologies if offended by my outburst.Without going into detail my first impressions of the bloke were that he was a genuine guy now i know its the complete opposite and i bear no strong political tendancies but this guy is a meglomaniac and wants to rule the world as a dictator .

      mr de

      May 22, 2010 at 12:16 pm

  10. For Bill Cannon’s information, I could not possibly ever have been described as “rich”. I am now a pensioner,total income comes from the state, pension credits, attendance allowance and live in a council house. So your assessment of Curly’s background could not have been more wrong. In the same way your assessment of his photography skills are also completely wrong. Oh, just incidentally. Curly has been out of work for about 2 years but luckily starts a new job next week. Get real.

    Curly's Dad

    May 22, 2010 at 10:41 pm

  11. I Have a Plan PSSSSSSTTTTT,
    I will get a grant of 40,000 pounds from the government(ha ha the serfs and servants will pay for my success and get a 20 000 loan also from stmbc build an extra room in my surgery and i will use council money to support my political interests so all of the people in south tyneside PAY for My RISE TO THE TOP.!143,000 people have paid through the nose
    for Me without knowing.FACT FACT oh and i will donate a little bit so it keeps me looking good.Whey aye man .THANK YOU SERVANTS/peasants of Tyneside.

    I Need a loan

    May 23, 2010 at 5:52 am

    • No wonder my council tax is going up again with people
      taking public money .This is an outrage.

      concerned pensioner

      May 23, 2010 at 5:58 am

      • Do you mean he takes from the public purse to support his ventures?WOW That is horrid.

        simon crabtree

        May 24, 2010 at 6:56 am

  12. I must apologise to Curly’s Dad. You seem to have made a financial sacrifice for your son to go to a poly or university. I know that pride in him achieving his degree or diploma would have been imense and for him to then go on and become a national retailer! I’m sure he would have repaid you.

    But, how would you have coped with several children at university, paying for your sons and daughters, I guess you only had the one child, then of course the labour party would have been more supportive and caring. I note they have provided you with a home and also with financial assistance. Inventions of the welfare state. I merely wish to see where a person such as Curly gets his political alliegance from. If he was working class, why is he abandoning his roots. Don’t get me wrong, I do admire those who get themselves a good education and pull themselves into something better, I know it takes hard work, I’m proud to say that my daughter worked very hard and got her degree, so I do know. She is better educated than me, I too received help from the government to support her. I only nhope she goes on to be a national retailer.
    But come on Curly’s Dad, surely you must appreciate what the welfare state has done for you? Where would you be now, if they didn’t provide for you?

    Bill Cannon

    May 24, 2010 at 11:58 am


Leave a Reply

