Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

Next Miliband (bananas or ice cream edition)

with 4 comments

david miliband

A bi product of a long weekend without internet access or television, thank you Virgin media you were so unkind, especially as we were looking forward to the UEFA Champion’s League Final. On the plus side the Medieval Fayre and day out at Bede’s World in Jarrow was exceptionally good and really well attended. Got my myself a bag full of shots of some very tasty looking birds, I’ll get some posted up on the photoblog over the next few days.

Anyway, enjoy the thought of the South Shields MP, David Miliband, enjoying his ice cream as we bake in this rather nice weather!

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

May 24, 2010 at 7:56 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m placing this here because i want to apologise to Curly’s dad and to perhaps state that I couldn’t photograph anything, so my criticism was more about where photo’s are taken. But let’s not over egg the pudding, Shileds is no paradise! Also, I noted there were 21 comments lower down so i didn’t weant this to be lost. Sorry curly’s, dad, but you have infact supported my position. look forward to Curly’s response.

    I must apologise to Curly’s Dad. You seem to have made a financial sacrifice for your son to go to a poly or university. I know that pride in him achieving his degree or diploma would have been imense and for him to then go on and become a national retailer! I’m sure he would have repaid you.

    But, how would you have coped with several children at university, paying for your sons and daughters, I guess you only had the one child, then of course the labour party would have been more supportive and caring. I note they have provided you with a home and also with financial assistance. Inventions of the welfare state. I merely wish to see where a person such as Curly gets his political alliegance from. If he was working class, why is he abandoning his roots. Don’t get me wrong, I do admire those who get themselves a good education and pull themselves into something better, I know it takes hard work, I’m proud to say that my daughter worked very hard and got her degree, so I do know. She is better educated than me, I too received help from the government to support her. I only nhope she goes on to be a national retailer.
    But come on Curly’s Dad, surely you must appreciate what the welfare state has done for you? Where would you be now, if they didn’t provide for you?

    Bill Cannon

    May 24, 2010 at 1:04 pm

  2. Well, Bill, when you start getting embroiled in personal commenting you are almost certain to get your facts wrong unless you know the people concerned. I wonder where you get your ideas about my personal beliefs? Am I working class (whatever that means)? What roots has Curly abandoned? Have I ever stated anything about my political leanings? Have I ever criticised the Welfare State? How many children do I have? Curly is definitely not the only one. I don’t ever remember Curly stating that he was a “National Retailer” only that he worked for a national retailer. So, Bill, there is a lot you don’t know about this family so stop the guessing games and stick to known facts.

    P.S. It was good to see that you said you know nothing about photography so again you need to know what you are talking about before you start criticising others and another P,S. I wasn’t too impressed with Stockton when I was there a few weeks ago (travelling on my Welfare State Bus Pass, of course)

    Curly's Dad

    May 25, 2010 at 12:01 am

  3. Curly’s dad, I am beyond this type of personal inuendo, however, Curly states he attended Higher Dducation, was a member of the conservative students union in Sunderland and durham university, he worked in all major towns, OK, For a national retailer. I would be interested in his case for supporting his allegance to the centre right. Does he get his expertise in politics from his education, experience or significant dealings with political policy. Is he a professional photographer, I doubt that one but, I see someone is purchasing photos from him, so by default he must be, I’m sure the taxman will confirm that!
    Or is it a case that Curly isn’t really a man of the political world and just simply expresses his view as a common man. If so then he should acknowledge this. My question remains to Curly, why are you abandoning your roots? your dad is clearly working class even if he dosent know what that means. It means you are of a social class that doesnt earn a lot of dosh and you are not a professional. If you are on state benefits and live in a council house this means YOU! However, do not be ashamed, I am proud to be working class and to help my community, to support it from the bottom up. Yes I’ve seen scroungers but I’ve also seen many poor people work hard and struggle, they are who I support.
    In conlclusion MR Curly lets agree, you went to at least one university, therefore you must have at least one degree, you worked across the nation as a national retailer, you probably live in a big house and have the money to support Conservative. So why have you abandoned your roots?
    As for Stockton, the people are very friendly, I live on the outskirts near nice countryside, I worked all my life as best i could, and bought a small house and supported my daughter through university at Sunderland, I know how hard she worked and I hope she does well out of it. I was forced to find work following the closure of Westoe Pit. I moved on to support my family. I’ve recently been forced to find work again when CORUS was doomed. Look Curlys Dad don’t be ashamed to be supported by the state and your son, I know the labour party needs to modernise, why don’t you try to help and support it! Curly come on I’m not being nasty, This is a genuine issue, tell us about yourself how you became middle class, and why you abandoned your roots, don’t you feel prous of the welfare state supporting those who don’t work and housing people like your Dad?

    Bill Cannon

    May 25, 2010 at 8:32 am

    • I will attempt to answer your questions in a separate post later this evening.

      curly

      May 25, 2010 at 4:57 pm


Leave a Reply

