Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

Looking after our money

with 13 comments

Do our politicians set themselves high enough moral standards?

Just a question – if you were asking an elected politician to scrutinise budgets, approve or disapprove expenditure, pay for services, help set the levels of taxation that you or I have to pay, challenge overspending colleagues who might run up unacceptable debts etc. – don’t you think that the same politician ought to have reasonably high standards of competency in financial matters? Would it be fair to say that a person who has a propensity to spend, not pay their bills, and run up large debts in a venture of their own is not really setting the high standards that we require from a person who is elected to steward our money?

If , for sake of argument, you elected me as your councillor, and it was found that I didn’t have the nous to run even a corner shop without creditors chasing me through the courts to recover money that I owed them, would you trust me with your money? Would you tell me to resign? Would you accuse me of lacking moral authority?

I’d welcome your thoughts here in South Shields as I toss up between reading the finer detail of the coalition budget or watching the football.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

June 22, 2010 at 5:31 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well it would help if we knew who you were hinting at and what their circumstances were. Failed businesses are hardly rare in this day and age and sometimes no fault of the unfortunate owner.

    Delilahcat

    June 22, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    • Glad to see that it has given you food for thought, I thought it might provoke a little puzzling.

      curly

      June 22, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    • Here Delilahcat I’ll save you the pain of searching around

      Click here

      The Skinny Cooncilla

      June 23, 2010 at 8:22 pm

      • Well I ertainly had no intention of searching around and I’m still none the wiser. Why don’t you just spit it out instead of going round the houses. Who are you referrig to?

        Delilahcat

        June 24, 2010 at 8:16 am

      • @The Skinny Cooncilla

        a few more details would be much appreciated by myself, and my readers, can we be told who this refers to and what the situation is on current liabilities please?

        curly

        June 24, 2010 at 4:45 pm

  2. Good point on standards of competency in financial matters – what experience qualifies Ascendant George Osborne to decide on the direction of the economy?

    brian

    June 22, 2010 at 6:42 pm

  3. Good point, Curly. “Delilahcat” has obviously missed the point.

    If, theoretically of course, you had a South Shields councillor ripping off businesses all over the nation, including in his or her own borough and region, would you want them having a say in the management of the public purse? I think not.

    Times are indeed hard for many businesses, Delilahcat.

    David Potts

    June 24, 2010 at 1:54 am

  4. Brian. George has a first class education and I would wager that he doesn’t have a single CCJ against him! Unlike some politicians.

    David Potts

    June 24, 2010 at 1:26 pm

  5. David, I’m sure he had the best education money can buy, but I don’t think that a history degree is the kind of competence that’s relevant to his job.

    In terms of his financial probity, whilst multi millionaire Osborne is unlikely to have CCJs, what about his house flipping? Or the claims that he tried to solicit money from a Russian billionaire? It doesn’t add up to a particularly clean sheet.

    It seems like a few CCJs are small fry compared to Osborne’s shenanigans.

    brian

    June 24, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    • I think it is safe to say that the unsatisfied debts relate to councillor Ahmed Khan’s business, Simply Workwear. When added to the £30,000 I understand he still owes to the council in legal fees, I would say that raises a few questions about Khan’s future as a councillor.

      I will be writing a piece on my blog shortly (after I have sunk a couple of beers).

      The Fat Councillor

      June 25, 2010 at 4:55 pm

  6. Well why didn’t they just say so instead of being all mysterious.

    Delilahcat

    June 25, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    • I worked it out for myself. I took the company number and searched on Companies House. Hey presto. Simply Workwear Ltd…

      The Fat Councillor

      June 25, 2010 at 6:47 pm

  7. […] The revelation this week that the business operated by Cllr. Ahmed Khan, the South Tyneside Independent Alliance deputy leader, has suffered a crisis in debt management with numerous creditors chasing Simply Workwear through the County Courts, raises questions about his suitability as someone who we should entrust with the scrutiny and challenging of public expenditure by the Labour Party in South Tyneside, and his effectiveness as a guardian of council tax payers. […]


Leave a Reply

