Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

Marsden and Whitburn Taxis, South Shields

with 5 comments

Marsden and Whitburn Taxis 2011 Calendar

This 2011 Calendar really gets under my skin.

A man called Ray Hunter emailed me towards the back end of last year, he wanted permission to use one of my images to make a calendar with, now if you are a follower of South Shields Daily Pictures you will know that I take my photography a bit seriously!

I often give people permission to use an image of mine free of charge, but strictly for non commercial purposes and strictly with attribution, so that the viewer knows who the photographer is. It serves the purpose of spreading my name and getting more visitors to the site. However, if someone wishes to use an image with commercial intent, and wanting to derive some profit from it, then it’s only fair that I get some of the reward for my work, intellectual and artistic ability, and the hours of post production required to make my images.

I emailed Ray and gave him permission to use a low resolution copy of this image, if, and only if, it was for a non commercial purpose. I informed him that if he wished to use a full resolution image with commercial intent, then we could mutually agree a license fee for its duplication and publication. I haven’t heard from him since.

You can bet that I was less than pleased when I received from a friend a copy of the Marsden and Whitburn Taxis 2011 Magnetic Calendar recently, which is adorned with this image. You may like to compare the image with the calendar, the image has been cropped and my Curly 2010 watermark in the top left corner has subsequently been removed, but it is surely my image!

If you have a copy of this calendar, you will notice that there is no attribution at all, no mention of where the picture came from. Therefore it would please me enormously if you destroyed it, the distribution of them is seriously getting under my skin, this clearly looks like a breach of copyright and is plainly contravening both the conditions for use as stated on every page of South Shields Daily Pictures, and the related Creative Commons License which I use to protect my images, also linked to on every page.

Marsden and Whitburn Taxis have previously been known as Marsden and District Taxis and Marsden and Cleadon Taxis, they are not strangers to controversy.

I am in the process of sending Mr. Hunter a bill for my services to his company.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

January 14, 2011 at 6:35 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thats the trouble with tinternet Curly, they all want summat for nowt!

    Scotty

    January 14, 2011 at 10:57 am

  2. Let the taxman know. You will be paying taxes with all your earnings from these photos and will missing out on revenue just as the taxman is. I’ll give them a call on your behalf!

    Thor

    January 15, 2011 at 12:01 pm

  3. Talk to your lawyer about this, looks like a civil claim for breach of copyright might be an option.However, might be a costly exercise to pursue this.

    LL.B

    January 17, 2011 at 4:41 pm

  4. Might be worth checking out option of using Small Claims Court procedure, the advantage of which is that neither you nor your opponent need incur legal costs or have to use solicitors if claim is disputed.

    LL.B

    January 17, 2011 at 5:35 pm

  5. Please may we offer our appologies for the use of your copyrighted photo of Marsden Rock,we failed to realise all the licencing law and copyrights of your local photographs, this was not done intentionaly to cause any harm or theft of material,May i appologise sincerely, i hope we can reolve this matter quickly and amicably to your satisfaction..
    Mr Ray Hunter

    Ray

    February 14, 2011 at 11:49 am


Leave a Reply

