Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

Potts is a recovering alcoholic

with 13 comments

David PottsFormer South Tyneside Tory Leader is battling personal problems, also leaves Conservative Party.

In a statement today, the councillor says that he is a recovering alcoholic.

“It is with a deep sense of both relief and regret that I resign with immediate effect from South Tyneside Council, the Conservative Party and frontline politics.

“It will come as no surprise to many of you that I am a recovering alcoholic. I recognise that public life is of no benefit to my recovery, and in turn I am of no benefit to public life. I must step aside.

“I’ve fought many opponents in my political career. Alas, the biggest one was always staring me in the face. I have always failed to beat alcohol.

“I have represented the people of Cleadon and East Boldon since I was 21 years of age. I will always have a great passion for our villages and, indeed, our borough.

“However, it is now my focus to concentrate on saving my life and helping other alcoholics within our region to deal with this evil illness in a constructive way. There is hope for all of us.

“If you have found yourself in the firing line of my disgraceful behaviour, then I apologise unreservedly.”

Apparently his decision has nothing to do with the mounting furore caused by his Tweet describing South Shields MP David Miliband as a w****er.

One of his latest Tweets was an attack on former Conservative Party member Ian Galletley who was the party’s candidate in Stockton North at the general election last year, describing him as a moron.

Twitter

This cannot have impressed the party hierarchy, or his local colleagues.

Picture courtesy of South Tyneside Borough Council

Update 13:42

Hebburn Liberal Democratic Councillor Joe Abbott “wishes David well for the future”.

Independent Alliance deputy leader Councillor Ahmed Khan gloats on three separate Twitter sites at once, proving that he writes them all.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

January 14, 2011 at 1:01 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Unlike Khan I would not gloat over the fact that someone is suffering from alcoholism. Although our politics couldn’t be more different as a human being I wish him well in his treatment. He won’t be the first and he certainly wont be the last. Alcohol is no respecter of position or politics and has laid low many a more important person than David Potts.
    Coun Khan should maybe have a care that people do not reciprocate when his inevitable fall from grace occurs.

    Ispy

    January 14, 2011 at 2:06 pm

  2. Does that mean Mr Potts is also withdrawing from his courageous fight against the BNP?

    brian

    January 14, 2011 at 4:10 pm

  3. Hi Curly

    My liver is in such a condition that if I start drinking again I will very likely die a premature death. My time in treatment has given me the tools and clean time to stay dry and live a decent and productive life. Public life is simply not conducive to my recovery, and having taken the advice of my wonderful family and close friends, I have decided to step down

    I’m happy and clean. I have a great job, and a wonderful partner. Life has never been better, and I’m not going to risk throwing it all away for a pint!

    Will continue to be a regular visitor to your blog. Thanks for your fair and balanced commentary over the years. You’re a good egg.

    Best wishes

    David

    David Potts

    January 14, 2011 at 5:16 pm

  4. Ahmed Khan should learn to keep his trap shut, he has enough skeletons in his cupboard to fill a graveyard.

    His constant badgering of Potts and bullying of other people would be enough to drive me to drink (no pun intended) his jabbering lately has been distasteful and unsavoury to say the least.

    I really hope that the press and the Indies can keep off Potts back now and let him get on with rebuilding hs life at his own pace, hes still a young lad with plenty of time to come back. At least hes been honest and faced his problems.

    People in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones.

    Julian Joys

    January 14, 2011 at 7:42 pm

  5. Hi Curly,
    can I say that it is with great sadness that I see that David Potts has had to reign. He had a lot going for him as he was intelligent, articulate and quite humerous when he wanted to be.
    This episode shows just how easy it is to allow alcohol to ruin one’s life.
    I, for one, do not gloat at such a thing happening and sincerely wish David all the best for the future and hope that one day he might be able to enter politics once again. He has a lot to offer.

    George Elsom

    January 15, 2011 at 10:17 am

  6. Mr. Carey what do you get off on? Mr. Potts has not stolen anything, that is just a plain libel and you know it, he is entitled to a councillors allowance the same way as any councillor, do you remember those who said they would NOT claim any expenses then went ahead and did it a few weeks after being elected? I guess that makes them thieves too then.
    You could have your allowance and leave town for a couple of weeks to do some business or visit family outside of town, you are still a councillor and you still have or email or phone.

    Where do you guys go and what do you do when the malice runs dry?
    I bet you are NOT so unforgiving when it comes to your own families.

    Plain double standards if you ask me.

    S. Thompson

    January 15, 2011 at 10:25 am

    • S Thompson is right but one issue with slander and libel is that it is not just the person who says it that is guilty but the person who publishes it. I.e. the blogger. This curly person is equally guilty and is committing offences.

      Thor

      January 15, 2011 at 11:59 am

  7. Hilton vs Kaschke Regulation 19 Article 14 E – Commerce Directive here.

    Curly

    January 16, 2011 at 1:10 pm

  8. teah! You are’nt exempt, you’ve read the material, you know it is there yet you still allow it to be opublished, in fact you are publishing it!! You are the publisher. the test case you quote offers you no protection under those circumstances, get a law book and read it.

    Thor

    January 16, 2011 at 4:40 pm

  9. Defamation law a minefield; get some legal advice fast. Do not recommend that a non lawyer relies upon the “Boys Book Of The Law” for advising him/herself; fatal and potentially costly for a layperson; LL.B.

    LL.B

    January 16, 2011 at 5:39 pm

  10. Listen guys I do appreciate these comments but must also point out that I have always offered aggrieved persons the right to reply on this blog, I have always been prepared to remove complete posts where aggrieved persons have requested and I’m always prepared to assist where I can. Therefore, and this has NOT been requested, in order to keep the peace around here I have removed the comment which is causing you all to go off topic.

    curly

    January 16, 2011 at 7:39 pm

  11. Wise move; be very wary of placing reliance upon a “one off” case without reading the full judgement and learned legal commentary thereupon.Overt potentially defamatory statements alleging dishonesty and malpractice without hard verifiable evidence are meat and drink to the Carter Rucks of this world. The topic speaks for himself eloquently enough, needing no comment…

    LL.B

    January 16, 2011 at 7:58 pm

  12. 59 comments on “Daily Mail” site regarding this story; perhaps 10% were posted by persons exhibiting some analytical and debating skills. A sad commentary on a cross section of the electorate.

    LL.B

    January 20, 2011 at 11:51 am


Leave a Reply

