Curly's Corner Shop, the blog!

South Shields premier political blog

Not all adults are peadophiles

with 2 comments

A quarter of adults to face ‘anti-paedophile’ tests

Next week “Missy” will have lunch at her friend’s house rather than stay for a school meal, she approached me with her friend and her grandfather in the school yard of the South Shields school that she attends. I know the man reasonably well, he’s a churchwarden, a nice bloke, all the kids love him, he occasionally helps out at school on trips and school fayres, he is CRB checked – he told me so!

“Don’t worry we’ll do it next Wednesday when my wife is there, so there will be two adults of different sexes , well you know, I have to be CRB checked to help out in the school”.

Isn’t this all a bit ludicrous I thought?

Let’s face it, if anything untoward was going to happen, I know where she is, who she is with, and what the address is, and I don’t go around thinking that every bloke who approaches my child has ill intent! My son often spends time at the home of two of his mates, I’ve met the parents and I’m not bothered if they are CRB checked or not – I’m not “risk averse”.

I want my children to have a normal childhood, is that too much to ask?

Do you realise it isn’t all that dangerous to allow your children to play out in the streets and parks of South Shields?

Don’t stories like this worry you? Have you ever looked at the number of situations vacant advertisements that tell you a CRB disclosure will be required?

If it weren’t for the lurid details of a few prominent cases reported graphically by the press and the media, if it wasn’t for their obsession with the headline grabbing sex and children angle, we wouldn’t be in this nonsensical mess littered with wholly irrational fears!

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

June 26, 2008 at 10:36 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you seen one of the ‘forms from the vetting bureau under place of birth it asks for ‘city’. I rang up to say that UK birth certificate does not include ‘city’ but registration district and sub district (at least in 1938!).

    They irish sounding guy at other end said ignore this and just fill in best you can – later in ‘form the applicant is threatened with ‘fate worse than death ‘if ‘form not correctly completed.

    I endorsed the ‘form to make my situation clear.

    How many thousands have just ‘obeyed orders’ uncritically

    I think Crapita have just imported a US program (in States any village can be City if it is incorporated!)

    Disgusted Grange-over-Sands

    Tony Coles

    June 26, 2008 at 11:10 am

  2. I just avoid children as if they carried the plague. I am well aware of how the unscrupulous can twist anything against one, so I for one am not affording them any opportunity or excuse.

    Yes, I have given in to all of this, but I have a life to lead and things to do, and cannot wate time and effort battling against this lunacy.

    John M Ward

    June 26, 2008 at 10:54 pm


Leave a comment